Dumplings and Dragons at Chinese New Year in Sydney

Chinese New Year is celebrated in Australia in full force with many events happening throughout the period, especially in Sydney.

To get into the spirit of the event I went to the opening day which had an unmistakable red glow to it.

The evening consists of on stage entertainment, cooking shows, lots of stalls selling products that I’m sure bring comfort to the Asian community and most importantly food.

I must admit, I cam here to sample whatever I could get my hands on, however arriving a whole hour after the event began, I was me with decisions of this dumpling or that and does a longer queue mean that the place is better or should I save the extra 10 minute wait for the ‘exploration’ slot on the timetable.

I guess what I’m trying to say is be prepared to wait for a minimum of 10 minutes and no, there aren’t many seats available (I made myself comfortable on a bench, nestled between a lady with kids and a rubbish bin).

Luckily, the entertainment is always heard and you can glimpse at it from in between the crowds. Or just wait for the dragon to walk past you!

When you do get to the front of the line, heaven is before you as freshly cooked dumplings are handed over and the chilli sauce is free flowing.

Stay around after dark to watch the red lanterns light up the venue.

Take a walk with me through the grounds:

2 thoughts on “Dumplings and Dragons at Chinese New Year in Sydney

Tell me something interesting

