SpudsnCrepes

Located in both Westfield Pitt St Mall food courts as well as other locations

Usually when I come to SpudsnCrepes I get either the French Chicken Crepe or the Chicken and Avocado Spud, but this being a ‘try something new’ blog, I went for the Chilli Con Carne Spud, although minus the red beans.

During lunch time, this being in a Sydney CBD food court, the store can get quite busy and a bit of a wait (a few minutes in line plus to get the meal) should be expected, however they are rather quick once the order goes through.

Order spuds or crepes with fresh ingredients

Alright back to the spud! This big potato came with a generous serving of Mexican beef, lettuce and tomato, which made me feel somewhat healthy or at least made the meal more fresh, avocado, cheese and sour cream. Oh and jalapeños, can’t forget those fiery pickles.

The meat here is very soft and is fantastic when mushed together with the potato, avocado and sour cream, with the cheese adding an extra layer of stringy texture to the lot. The cold tomato and lettuce really break up the mixture and add a bit of crunch to the meal, as well as providing some heat relief for those who do not like jalapeños.

My Chilli Con Carne Spud

Overall the meal is not too bad and definitely filling if that is what you are after. My only problem with this place is that the potato skin is ridiculously tough and the plastic knife and fork are not sufficient enough if you want to eat this in a civilised manner. I usually take the spud back to either somewhere where I have access to real knives and forks or resort to using my fingers, in order to finish my meal.

Chilli Con Carne: $8

Tell me something interesting

