New Shanghai

Harbour Room, Westfield Bondi Junction 500 Oxford St, Bondi Junction, 2022

Whenever I walk past a dumpling place, well, I walk past it. Something about dumplings just doesn’t seem very filling to me and I never take a chance on the little meat and pastry delicacies. However New Shanghai has indeed been on my list of places to try for quite some time and I wasn’t overly hungry last night, so this seemed like a pretty good choice.

Looking at the menu I was a little overwhelmed. Whilst I culled anything that didn’t have the word dumpling on it, I was still left with quite a big list to choose from. I usually don’t choose pork items but in this case I was left with little choice as virtually the entire menu contained pork and I didn’t want anything too vegetarian or ‘non dumpling’. Initially I wanted to bun with crab, but by 6pm on a Monday night the crab meat was sold out. I also wanted to mix and match things a bit so that I could get more variety, however that was not allowed for most items. After another 5 minutes of staring, I resorted to the Lamb and Leek Dumplings and the Shepherd’s Purse & Pork Wonton tossed with sesame butter, red chilli oil and spice.

The Dumplings Being Freshly Made

The lady informed me that my order will take approximately 10 minutes to make, allowing me time to watch my food get made as the dumpling makers made their way to the designated area where they got to work kneading the pastry and rolling the ingredients. Whilst this was very entertaining, it also showed that the food is very fresh and made to order; definitely a plus!

Having taken my meal home, it was finally time to eat. I started with the Lamb and Leek Dumplings: the meat was very soft and the dumpling itself had an almost lime aftertaste, but otherwise it was somewhat plain. The Shepherd’s Purse, on the other hand, was fantastic. Inside was the meat mixed with something green (spinach perhaps), whilst the sauce that accompanied it was coconut creamy with almost a peanut sauce taste to it and just the right amount of spice to make it have a kick at the end.

Shepherd’s Purse & Pork Wontons and Lamb and Leek Dumplings

In terms of hunger, I struggled very much to finish it and actually ended up having the leftovers for lunch the following day. I would suggest going here with at least one other person so that you can share the dishes, otherwise the dumplings get a little monotonous if you are not continuously swapping between them. If I eat here again, I will probably order the Pan Fried Pork Bun – the signature dish which has soup enclosed in the bun and is probably not recommended for takeaway.

Lamb and Leek Dumplings (12pcs): $10.80

Shepherd’s Purse & Pork Wonton (10pcs): $9.80

Total: $20.60

Tell me something interesting

